NEW RELEASES

Summary

What I liked about this book was that it had a Sherlock Holmes feel to it. I love those books as well. I was also reminded of The Davinci Code as well, with all of the Catholic references.  If the reader enjoys fantastic murder mysteries, then I highly recommend this book.

5 STAR REVIEW: THE CANTERBURY MURDERS by E.M. Powell

The-Canterbury-Murders_Blog-Tour-Banner

The Description

Stanton & Barling: Book 3
Publication Date: November 12, 2020

A fire-ravaged cathedral. An ungodly murder.

Easter, 1177. Canterbury Cathedral, home to the tomb of martyr Saint Thomas Becket, bears the wounds of a terrible fire. Benedict, prior of the great church, leads its rebuilding. But horror interrupts the work. One of the stonemasons is found viciously murdered, the dead man’s face disfigured by a shocking wound.

When King’s clerk Aelred Barling and his assistant, Hugo Stanton, arrive on pilgrimage to the tomb, the prior orders them to investigate the unholy crime.

But the killer soon claims another victim–and another. As turmoil embroils the congregation, the pair of sleuths face urgent pressure to find a connection between the killings.

With panic on the rise, can Barling and Stanton catch the culprit before evil prevails again—and stop it before it comes for them?

THE CANTERBURY MURDERS is the third book in E.M. Powell’s Stanton and Barling medieval murder mystery series. Combining intricate plots, shocking twists and a winning–if unlikely–pair of investigators, this series is perfect for fans of Ellis Peters’ Brother Cadfael or C. J. Sansom’s Shardlake.

The Review

The Canterbury Murders-Review-FBFor me, there is nothing quite like a good murder mystery to keep one guessing the entire time and making the reader have little panic attacks while home alone. It makes being home that much more interesting!

Murder mysteries are fun to read, and this book didn’t disappoint in the slightest—fast-paced, funny banter between the characters, and just excellent writing. The author draws the reader in from the first page. Her writing style reminds me of Nora Roberts. Her books always draw me in as well. I thought of her writing style within the first few pages.

The is the third book in the series. I feel that one doesn’t need to read the other books in the series in order to understand the plot. I was able to follow along quite well. 

What I liked about this book was that it had a Sherlock Holmes feel to it. I love those books as well. I was also reminded of The Davinci Code as well, with all of the Catholic references. 

If the reader enjoys fantastic murder mysteries, then I highly recommend this book.

Buy Links

AmazonAdd to Goodreads

About The Author

E.M. PowellE.M. Powell’s historical thriller and medieval mystery Fifth Knight and Stanton & Barling novels have been #1 Amazon and Bild bestsellers.

The third Stanton & Barling mystery, THE CANTERBURY MURDERS, will be released in November 2020.

Born and raised in the Republic of Ireland into the family of Michael Collins (the legendary revolutionary and founder of the Irish Free State), she lives in northwest England with her husband, daughter and a Facebook-friendly dog.

E.M. Powell is represented by Josh Getzler at HG Literary.

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, January 11
Guest Post at Novels Alive
Review at Passages to the Past

Tuesday, January 12
Review at Reader_ceygo

Wednesday, January 13
Feature at Words and Peace
Guest Post at The Writing Desk

Thursday, January 14
Review at YA, It’s Lit

Friday, January 15
Review at Gwendalyn’s Books

Saturday, January 16
Review & Excerpt at Older & Smarter

Sunday, January 17
Interview at Reader_ceygo
Review at Historical Fiction with Spirit

Monday, January 18
Feature at I’m Into Books

Tuesday, January 19
Review at A Book Geek

Wednesday, January 20
Feature at The Lit Bitch

Thursday, January 21
Interview at Madwoman in the Attic

Friday, January 22
Feature at Reading is My Remedy

Monday, January 25
Review at Chicks, Rogues and Scandals

Tuesday, January 26
Interview at Jathan & Heather

Wednesday, January 27
Review at Books and Zebras

Thursday, January 28
Review at the.b00kreader

Friday, January 29
Review at Hoover Book Reviews

Monday, February 1
Review at A Darn Good Read
Review at Books, Cooks, Looks

Wednesday, February 3
Review at Impressions In Ink
Review at Debjani’s Thoughts
Interview & Excerpt at Books & Benches

Thursday, February 4
Review at Bookramblings

Friday, February 5
Review at Coffee and Ink
Review at Jessica Belmont
Review at Donna’s Book Blog
Review at Novels Alive

REVIEW AUTHOR

Lori Van Buren
I’ve reviewed before for the now closed Romancing the Book. I love reading whether it’s an ebook or a good old-fashioned book book. The smell of a book is such a nice smell. I work with handicapped adults in my real life and I live in New York State.

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -