Summary

...I really enjoyed Holly Danvers' writing style and storytelling. The mystery was well developed, and the characters were varied and interesting. I can't wait to return to this little corner of Wisconsin for future books in the series. Well done!

4 STAR REVIEW: MURDER AT THE LAKESIDE LIBRARY by Holly Danvers

The Description

A Lakeside Library Mystery: Book 1
Publication Date: July 13, 2021

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmot must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Rain Wilmot has just returned to her family’s waterfront log cabin in Lofty Pines, Wisconsin after the untimely death of her husband. The cabin is peaceful compared to Rain’s corporate job and comes with an informal library that Rain’s mother, Willow, used to run. But as Rain prepares for the re-opening of the library, all hopes for a peaceful life are shattered when she discovers the body of Thornton Hughes, a real estate buyer, on the premises.

The community of Lofty Pines starts pointing fingers at Willow, since she has been unusually absent from the library this summer. A fishy rumor surfaces when Rain learns that Willow had been spending a lot of time with Thornton. The town even thought they were having an affair.

While theories swirl about Thornton’s death, Rain takes it upon herself to solve the case to exonerate her mother. As more clues surface, Rain will have to piece together the mystery. But if she isn’t careful, she may be the next to end up dead in the water in Murder at the Lakeside Library, the first in Holly Danvers new Lakeside Library mysteries.

The Review

Murder at the Lakeside Library is the first in a new series by Holly Danvers. Danvers is a new to me author, and something about a “lakeside library” called to me, so I knew I needed to try this book.

As this was the first book in the Lakeside Library Mystery series, there are several character introductions and a lot of world-building. However, I felt that it wasn’t overdone and that I learned just enough about the area and the inhabitants for this book to work. And there’s room for growth in future installments in the series. I appreciated that she left a little mystery in the details to be revealed later.

I liked the main character, Rain. She was quite relatable. She’s escaped to her family’s lakeside cabin to regroup after the death of her husband. Since high school, she hasn’t spent much time there, so she’s reacquainting herself with the town and the “lakers.” Rain’s a bit of an introvert, she’s a book lover, and she decides to try and solve the murder mystery since the local cops aren’t moving fast enough for her tastes.

The mystery itself was intriguing. The man who dies on Rain’s property is a complete stranger to her, and slowly hints are uncovered regarding who he is. I admit, that often I could see where it was going, and then in the wrap-up at the end… well, I was thrown for a loop. While Rain’s detective skills aren’t honed, she wasn’t bumbling around for the most part.

In the end, I really enjoyed Holly Danvers’ writing style and storytelling. The mystery was well developed, and the characters were varied and interesting. I can’t wait to return to this little corner of Wisconsin for future books in the series. Well done!

Buy Links

Amazon Barnes & Noble iBooks KoboIndieBound
Add to Goodreads

About The Author

Holly Danvers grew up devouring every mystery novel on the shelf of her local library. She lives in the Midwest with her husband and 3 chickens, where she’s already plotting her next novel.

WebsiteFacebookGoodreadsAmazon-SocialBookbub
Blog Tour Schedule

July 13 – Novels Alive – GUEST POST

July 13 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW

July 13 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

July 14 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

July 14 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW

July 15 – Here’s How It Happened – SPOTLIGHT

July 15 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

July 16 – Books to the Ceiling – REVIEW

July 16 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW  

July 17 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 18 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

July 19 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 19 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 20 – Ascroft, eh? – GUEST POST

July 20 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

July 21 – Novels Alive – REVIEW

July 21 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

July 22 – Reading, Writing & Stitch-Metic – SPOTLIGHT

July 22 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

July 23 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

July 23 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – REVIEW, RECIPE

July 24 – Brooke Blogs – REVIEW

July 24 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

July 25 – Cozy Up With Kathy – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

July 25 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

July 26 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT  

July 26 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW

REVIEW AUTHOR

Jen Khttps://www.goodreads.com/user/show/6399328-jen
As a former small press and freelance editor and owner of the blog, Romancing the Book, Jen has been helping promote books for over 15 years. During the day, she's an analyst for an international energy management company. In her free time, she can be found walking her puppy Monkey, playing video games or most likely reading. Her favorite genres are cozy mysteries and historical romance, but is also partial to western small town contemporary romance as well. You'll never see her reading sci-fi or horror. Jen lives in eastern Washington.

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -