Summary

While steampunk fiction isn’t typically in my wheelhouse, Labyrinth Room provides an excellent introduction to the genre.

4-STAR REVIEW: THE LABYRINTH ROOM by Mareth Griffith

The Description

Publication Date: October 14, 2021

Deserting his regiment in the aftermath of an injury, Torrent is just trying to get home to his fiancée without being robbed or arrested. Reporting the illegal saltpeter mine he finds on his return might be valuable enough for the army to overlook his truancy, perhaps even grant him a pension. If he’s willing to betray Molly to make that report.

For Molly, chemistry has always been more useful than magic, especially now that supplying the opposing side with gunpowder is the only thing keeping her from being ousted from her own farm. After two years apart, Molly knows it’s foolish to trust Torrent with either the mine or her heart. Unfortunately, Torrent’s not the only one interested in Coriander Hollow.

Between Torrent’s desertion and her own illegal mine, Molly has to decide whose secrets she’s willing to protect and how far she’s willing to go to protect them. And Molly hadn’t counted on Coriander Hollow having secrets of its own…

This is an adult fantasy novel, that might appeal to readers of Genevieve Cogman, Naomi Novik or Katherine Addison. It’s historical fantasy-ish (I describe it as ‘steampunk on a farm’), a little bit Cherie Priest meets Cold Mountain.

The Review

Left with a permanent reminder of his military service and classified as a deserter, Torrent Harrow wants only to go back home and see the woman he hopes to make his wife. En route, he discovers Coriander Hollow to be full of secrets leading to Molly’s doorstep. In Labyrinth Room, author Mareth Griffith delivers an unusual tale full of secrets.

The focal point is the mine in Coriander Hollow, where Molly serves as a gunrunner by allowing people to mine the saltpeter for gunpowder. Torrent’s discovery that his lady love is helping the enemy doesn’t sit well with him. There’s a lot of complexity involved in Molly’s actions during the two years Torrent has been away at war.

The writing itself is on point, although I found myself unable to really develop a mental image of what was happening beyond the fact that there is apparently more to the mine than even Molly knows. However, the ghostly intrigue of adding an encounter with the baldwinn named Cricket ratcheted up the suspense. Overall, the story builds slowly but ends with a satisfactory resolution (and a few surprises).

While steampunk fiction isn’t typically in my wheelhouse, Labyrinth Room provides an excellent introduction to the genre.

Buy Links

Amazon Barnes & Noble iBooks Kobo
Add to Goodreads

About The AuthorMareth Griffith bounces between the Pacific Northwest coast and various warmer locations. She mostly lives in Seward, Alaska, and assures you winters there aren’t as bad as you think.
 When she’s not writing, she works as a naturalist and wilderness guide, leading adventurous souls on epic quests to seek out glaciers, bears, and whales in the wilds of coastal Alaska. She’s also lived and worked in Scotland, Mexico, New Zealand, and Northern Ireland—where her nearest neighbors included two thousand puffins and the ghost of a spectral black horse. 
Originally from West Virginia, Mareth attended Smith College in Massachusetts, studying music and theatre. Mareth plays classical violin well and rhythm guitar badly.

WebsiteFacebookTwitterGoodreadsAmazon-SocialBookbub

Blog Tour Schedule

October 18 – RABT Book Tours – Kick Off

October 19 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – Spotlight*

October 20 – Our Town Book Reviews – Spotlight

October 21 – Nanas book reviews – Spotlight

October 22 – Book junkiez – Excerpt

October 23 – Jazzy Book Reviews – Excerpt

October 25 – Teatime and Books – Spotlight

October 26 – Momma says to read or not to read – Spotlight

October 27 – Momma and Her Stories – Excerpt

October 28 – Triquertra Reviews – Spotlight

October 29 – Novels Alive – Review

October 30 – Sylv Net – Spotlight

November 1 – A Life Through Books – Interview

November 2 – Crossroad reviews – Spotlight

November 3 – The Indie Express – Review

November 4 – Book corner news and reviews – Spotlight

November 5 – My Reading Addiction – Interview

November 6 – Saphs books – Spotlight

November 8 – Liliyana Shadolwyn – Spotlight

November 9 – On a Reading Bender – Review

November 10 – The Faerie Review – Spotlight

November 11 – Phoebe’s Randoms – Spotlight

November 12 – Texas Book Nook – Review

November 15 – The Avid Reader – Interview

November 16 – So Many Books – Spotlight

November 17 – Jav Bond blog tours – Review

November 18 – I smell sheep – Review

November 18 – Valerie Ullmer – Excerpt

November 18 – RABT Reviews – Wrap Up

REVIEW AUTHOR

Amy Wilson
My name is Amy W., and I am a book addict. I will never forget the day I came home from junior high school to find my mom waiting for me with one of the Harlequin novels from my stash. As she was gearing up for the "you shouldn't be reading this" lecture, I told her the characters get married in the end. I'm just glad she didn't find the Bertrice Small book hidden in my closet. I have diverse reading tastes, evident by the wide array of genres on my Kindle. As I made the transition to an e-reader, I found myself worrying that something could happen to it. As a result, I am now the proud owner of four Kindles -- all different kinds, but plenty of back-ups! "Fifty Shades of Grey" gets high marks on my favorites list -- not for character development or dialogue (definitely not!), but because it blazed new ground for those of us who believe provocative fiction is more than just an explicit cover. Sylvia Day, Lexie Blake, and Kristin Hannah are some of my favorite authors. Speaking of diverse tastes, I also enjoy Dean Koontz, Iris Johansen, and J.A. Konrath. I’m always ready to discover new-to-me authors, especially when I toss in a palate cleanser that is much different than what I would normally read. Give me something with a well-defined storyline, add some suspense (or spice), and I am a happy reader. Give me a happily ever after, and I am downright giddy.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -